California – Discipline by the CSLB, including revocation of a license.
Connecticut – A $1,000 fine or 6 months in prison or both.
District of Columbia – A fine of up to $300 and 90 days in jail.
Florida – A $500 fine for omitting the Recovery Fund notice.
Hawaii – Both the contract and the contractor’s statutory lien rights are void.
Massachusetts – Suspension of registration, fines up to $2,000 and a year in jail.
Maryland – A fine of $1,000 and 6 months in jail.
Maine – A fine of between $100 and $1,000 for each violation.
New Jersey – A refund of all money collected or treble damages plus legal fees.
New York – The contractor can’t sue to collect on the contract.
Oregon – A civil penalty of up to $5,000 for each offense.
Pennsylvania – Paying the owner three times actual damages plus attorney fees.
Texas – Paying the owner a $500 penalty.